The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

Womens Island E-BookMy friend Kaitlyn Deann contacted me and asked if I’d like to take part in this blog hop called ‘THE NEXT BIG THING’. Thanks, Kaitlyn! It is designed to raise awareness of our work, or work in progress. We do that by answering ten questions about it. We graciously thank the person who nominated us, and tag four to six other authors whose work could very well be THE NEXT BIG THING.

What is the working title of your next book?

Currently I am working on getting my novel, Women’s Island (a dystopian society novel), publication ready.  After that I’ll be back to work on The Gifted Series.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

After reading  several news articles about women’s rights being suppressed I came up with a dystopian society novel idea where men in power have taken away women’s liberties.  But women are strong and they ban together to protect themselves and their children.  It started out from a political view point and turned into something greater.  My story is about love, family, survival, and most of all… equality.

“As a nation, we are at the precipice of a slippery slope where men in power are arguing about how to take basic rights away from women. I shudder to think what lays at the bottom of that slope…” ~ Sarah Fister Gale

Here are some articles that pushed me to write this story:

Impacting article one

Impacting article two

What genre does your book fall under?

This book is definitely Science Fiction in a Dystopian Society sub-genre.  Drastic changes have occurred Socially in reference to gender, Scientifically in humane experimentation, and much more.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This is always a tough one for me because if I ever was able to have my book turned into a movie, I’d rather have unknown actors play my characters.  That way they can be come the characters in my viewers and readers eyes.  However, I will do my best to choose some known actors just for the fun of it.

Mercy Chamberlain – Played by Cassidy Freeman

Andrew Chamberlain – Played by Chris Evans

Christian Chamberlain – Played by Alina Foley

Luke Chamberlain – Played by a cute 3 year old

Ever – Played by Kristin Kreuk

Officer Fremont – Played by Jake Abel

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

How far will you go to protect your children when the government decides you are now their property?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Women’s Island will be self-published through Smashwords, Amazon, and Createspace as all my books will in the future.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Too long for my liking.  Four months.  Finding time to write sometimes ends up being moments few and far between.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

This is a tough one because Women’s Island is a very specific dystopian society novel but I’d compare it to The Hunger Games and Divergent.  Both these books have extreme changes in power and society.  The children are not treated well in their innocence but rather used in the government’s project to continue controlling the people.  The government in Women’s Island views children in a similar light and society has drastically fallen from what it is today.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My son is always a big inspiration when I write.  This book really is important to me because I feel it could make a difference in how people view women, children, and equality in all fronts.  Really, my inspiration for this book comes from many people, many issues, and other aspects of life.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Women’s Island is more than a suppression story in a city ruled by men.  The reader will go on a journey to find a secret society of a rumored haven for women and children.  Along the way they will battle creatures that are not what nature intended and stay in places that seem impossible to exist.

* * *

Want to read more Next Big Thing Posts?  Here are some other authors tagged for today:

Elisabeth Wheatley | Ella QuinnMichaelLisa Landreth

Here are the fabulous authors I’ve tagged to tell you about their Next Big Thing!  Check out their posts next Wednesday!

Ashley Marshall | Nadège Richards | Autumn Seigel | KaSonndra Leigh | Gabrielle Franchetti

11 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

    • I do too, Elisabeth! And also, I didn’t even think to put pictures on my NBT blog! *Facepalm* Genius. Simply genius.
      Loved it, Ashley! ❤

    • @Elizabeth
      Thanks. I usually have a difficult time too. I will admit, it took me a couple of days to think of some actors to choose but luckily Kaitlyn Deann told me about NBT early enough to give me the time I needed to figure them out.

    • Thanks 🙂 When writing your post, highlight the words you want to have a link attached to. Then at the top of the “visual” text box there should be a button with a chain link symbol on it. Click that an a little window will pop up asking for the url address for the page you want to link it to. I always check the little box at the bottom of the window that says “open in new window” once I’ve pasted the link in the box. Then click… “add link” I think it says. You don’t ned to worry about the “title” because that’s just to save inside your library. I never use the link library. That’s all there is to it.

  1. Pingback: The Next Big Thing [Bloggity Hop] | CrankyAshley

  2. Pingback: The Next Big Thing [Bloggity Hop] | Ashe Marshall, Attempting Author

  3. Pingback: The Artistic Persuasion 2012 in Review | The Artistic Persuasion

  4. Pingback: The Next Big Thing [Bloggity Hop] | Ashe Marshall

  5. Pingback: Kidnapped | The Artistic Persuasion

Share your thoughts...

